Bean Tacos/Refried beans

I thought this recipe came from a vegetarian cookbook but after looking for it I discovered it must be an old family recipe from my dad.  I love it. It is much tastier than refried beans and uses a lot less fat. Here in Denmark (and even in Spain) I can’t buy fresh corn tortillas so I make them. Recipe to follow in a separate post. Homemade salsas are also a must for a good taco.

2 cups dry pinto and/or kidney beans (a large bottle 64 oz? cooked beans could work) I soaked the beans over night and then put them in the pressure cooker for 30 minutes with bay leaves.

  • 1 large onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 small can chopped tomatoes (400 gr.)
  • salt/pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp oregano

Saute onion and garlic  in a pan until very well done. Add beans and smash them. I blend them in the Tmix.  Add tomatoes and spices. Mix. If it is a little thin continue to simmer and the water will boil off.

Top with cheese/beef, sour cream, salsa, lettuce.

Leave a Reply

