Sweet and Sour Tofu and Eggplant (in a crockpot)

Made in a crockpot

That's what I'm talking about!

I have been craving tofu for the last few days and finally decided how I felt like eating it… in a sweet and sour sauce:) I have never made a sweet and sour sauce so I looked things up on the internet. I was quite disappointed. If you want vegan/fat free ideas they have them but that didn’t interest me (or my pallat:). So I figured I better search for Sweet and Sour Pork… those people know how to eat!!! That gave me better results but I still found many recipes that called for bottled sweet and sour sauce. I looked at about 10 recipes and then just decided to make my own version. One version I really liked and took the tofu idea from was a girl who made it her goal to use her crockpot everyday in 2008! Here is the version I made up , with the minor alterations I would make next time 🙂

Sweet and Sour Tofu and Eggplant

  • 2 onions chopped
  • 2 peppers (i used one green and one yellow)
  • 1 clove garlic chopped or pressed
  • 1 15 oz can of pineapple with juice
  • 1-2 tablespoons tomato paste 
  • 2.5 Tbs vinagre
  • 3.5 Tbs sugar
  • 3-5 Tbs water (start with 3 and add more if you need it at the end)
  • 1+ Tbs corn starch
  • 1/2 chili pepper chopped (mine only had a few seeds so you might want take some out)
  • _______________
  • 20+ oz tofu
  • corn starch to coat tofu
  • 1 eggplant and oregano (optional)
  • salt

Add all ingredients up to tofu in the crockpot. Let cook at least 5 hours on high.

When you are about 30 minutes from eating: 

Chop the eggplant in medium sized slices. In a baking dish coat them with about 1 tbs oil and sprikle them with salt and oregano.  Cook on about 400 for 15 minute or until soft. Add to the crockpot mix. Next, coat the cubed tofu with corn starch. Add a little salt. Then fry the tofu in about 3 Tbs of oil on high heat. Don’t stir them to much, just flip them once to make sure they are golden on all sides. Add the fried tofu to the crockpot mix.

Serve with rice

2 responses to “Sweet and Sour Tofu and Eggplant (in a crockpot)

  1. Hi Sarah, I had to go out and buy a pressure cooker – fortunately they had a two day sale & I got it for half price!!

    There is a “sweet and sour” eggplant recipe on the Thermomix Forum at http://www.forumthermomix.com/index.php?topic=316 that might be of interest to you.

    Cheers

  2. This is a great recipe because it’s so quick and easy to make and tastes so good! I didn’t start early enough to make it in a crockpot, but it only took about 45 minutes to make in a nonstick frying pan. The sweet and sour ingredients are so simple to throw together—why would anyone buy them already made up??

    I particularly liked the addition of eggplant to the dish–gave it more texture and interest than tofu alone would have. It’s a winner that I’m going to add to my list of good car campiing recipes (though you’d have to stir fry the eggplant separately instead of baking it for 15 minutes)!

Leave a Reply

