Coconut Tofu

 

This is all that was left!

This is all that was left!

I had my first whole conversation with a random person and on various topics in Danish. I went to get tofu at one of the many ethnic shops in Aalborg. She asked what I was looking for and we started talking while she gave me my tofu. She has family in who lives in the US and we talked about that and the different opportunities life in Denmark and the US offers. In Denmark there is equality to get an education but after you graduate she says it is difficult for foreigners to get a job. In the US, its hard to get higher education but once you do there isn’t as much racism to get a job. It was an interesting perspective. She also talked about the problem of corruption in Vietnam. I tell you this was a real conversation, not your typical “hi, my name is…, I’m from…, I’m…”.

Coconut Tofu Rice Noodle

  • 1 stalk (not the upper stem) leek 
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2-3 teaspoons sugar
  • salt, pepper, squirt of soy
  • spices: pinch of cumin, 1/2 teaspoon “tandori masala bbq” seasoning (a mix of cumin, cinnomin, cilantro, oregano, thyme), dash of nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon basil.
  • 1 400 gr. (10.5 oz) coconut milk– today I used organic and it was good!
  • 1/2 cauliflower
  • 125 gr. rice noodles (i used half a package).

Saute leeks and garlic in oil until done. Add cubed tofu, sugar, and spices. After 2 minutes add coconut milk. Leave coconut tofu to simmer. Adjust seasoning if necesary. Add chopped cauliflower to boiling water with salt and cook for 4 minutes. Then add rice noodles and drain after 3. Combine coconut tofu and cauliflower and rice noodles.

3 responses to “Coconut Tofu

  1. Hey Kiddos,
    I was reading old posts and saw that you had a garden in texas…my old house? Where was it and how big and what all did you grow and how did Bob feel about it…yada.

  2. Yeah, we did a small garden on the side/back of the house. It wasnt that big, but way bigger than what we have here 🙂 I imagine we asked Bob about doing it, but he was pretty easy going and i dont remember him having any complaints. What does “yada” mean??

  3. yada yada yada…its a seinfeld thing…

Leave a Reply

