Burritos con Salsa Blanca

The Salsa Blanca was an invention that turned out really well.  I had planned on using left over Chili and brown rice for Burritos, but when I looked in the fridge I saw that we also needed to use the mild feta cheese that we had. So, my task was to make a salsa with feta cheese that would be really good on the burritos. I looked a few things up on the Internet but I couldn’t find any suggestions. This is what I came up with- a tasty flavored white sauce for vegetable-bean tacos. It sort of reminded us of the white sauce they serve on Kebabs in Europe.  Carlos and I will make this again!

Salsa blanca:

  • Feta
  • Juice of 1 fresh lime
  • 1/3 of a clove crushed garlic
  • 1/2 Tbs basil
  • black pepper to taste
  • Cilantro
  • 1/2-1 tbs buttermilk (to thin it)

Squeeze lime and add crushed garlic to it. Let sit for 10 minutes. Add all ingredients (except buttermilk) to T-mix and blend on 10 for 4 seconds. If you need to thin the sauce add just  bit of buttermilk. I use buttermilk because it will still be tangy like the lime.

Chili

We used leftover chili and the 3/4 cups brown rice I had left. I also added an extra zucchini I found. You could do the same thing with Bean tacos or sauteed vegetables. If you are converting Chili into burritos add more cumin and maybe a few more sauteed onions. If don’t have leftover chili you can use canned or cooked beans as follows:

Bean Tacos

  • 2 onions
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 green pepper (optional)
  • 2+ cups pinto or kidney beans
  • 1 can (400 gr) whole or chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Saute onion, garlic and green pepper. Add beans and smash them or blend the beans in the T-mix. Add tomato juice and then the tomatoes. You might not need the whole can. Add spices and mix.

 

Bean Burrito with White Sauce

Bean Burrito with White Sauce

Leave a Reply

